How do I make a backup and restore it?

Jolla Testing -

 

CONTENTS

1. Preword

1.1.  What is NOT included in backups

1.2.  What is included in backups

1.3.  Backup prior to factory reset

1.4.  Backup prior to encrypting user data

2. Using a memory card as storage

2.1.  Backing up to memory card

2.2.  Restoring from memory card

 

3. Using cloud service as storage

3.1. Backing up to cloud

3.2. Restoring from cloud

 

4. Known issues

 


1. Preword

Before you use backup/restore, please bear in mind that the backup utility cannot save all data on your device.


1.1.  What is NOT included in backups

The backup utility of Sailfish OS does not save

  • OS updates
  • installed applications (neither Sailfish nor Android), not even the list of them
  • application data of Android apps
  • music files
  • email messages
  • the settings in the Settings menu
  • contacts synchronised to a cloud service (e.g. Google) - local (non-synced) contacts are backed up
  • calendar appointments synchronised to a cloud service (e.g. Google) - local (non-synced) appointments are backed up
  • images and videos are not backed up to any cloud service, only to an SD card
  • recorded calls
  • document files in the Documents folder of the phone

Items NOT listed in chapter 1.2 are not backed up, either.


1.2  What is included in backups

The following items are backed up (but with some exceptions):

Accounts: your configured accounts (Settings > Accounts).
Note:  you will probably have to re-login to your accounts after using the Restore function.

Browser: your browser bookmarks & tabs.
Note: your saved passwords are not saved.

Gallery: photos and images appearing in Gallery app (residing in folders Pictures and Videos of the phone)
Note:
- Files in other folders, such as Downloads are not backed up.
- Images and videos are not backed up to cloud service, only to an SD card
- Images and videos saved by Android applications are not backed up.

Media: your playlists from the Media application.
Note: the actual music files (e.g. .mp3) are not backed up.

Messages: your SMS and IM messages.
Note: attachments of the MMS messages (i.e. pictures and other media files) are not backed up.

Calendar:
- your list of calendars in "Manage calendars" (in the pull-down menu)
- your private calendar entries (local, non-synchronized) in the Calendar app.
Note:  synchronized entries (e.g. those from Google calendar service) are not backed up.

Notes: your notes created in Notes application.
Note:  restoring notes from backup always overwrites pre-existing notes in device (if any)

People: your local (non-synchronized) contacts.
Note: any data from cloud services (Google, Facebook) are not backed up.

Phone: Call history.

 

Items missing from this list are NOT backed up!


1.3  Backup prior to factory reset

If you are going to make a backup because you intend to do a device reset (reset device to factory settings), please note that ALL DATA in the device will be completely WIPED OUT. Like written in chapters 1.1 and 1.2 above, Sailfish backup does not save everything you have in your device, i.e. some data will be lost.  However, the data on the memory card remains intact.

Proceed in this order to restore your system after the reset:

1. First install all system updates until you are in the latest Sailfish OS version again.
2. Then install all your applications again and add your accounts.

3. Restore the backup only now.


1.4  Backup prior to encrypting user data

We recommend backing up your data before encrypting the user data (home partition) of your device. This is our help article on the encryption of user data.

We also recommend encrypting your memory card (SD card) first, before encrypting home, to ensure that your backup data is safely stored to the card. How to encrypt the SD card is explained in this article on SD cards.

 


2. Using a memory card as storage


2.1. Backing up to memory card

1. Turn your device off.

2. Insert a memory card (an SD card) to the device. Check what is said about compatibility in this article on SD cards.

3. Turn device on (it is always good to restart the device before taking a backup).

4. Open Settings and select Backup

5. Tap on “Back up data to” and select “Memory card”. Tap “Back up” and proceed when you are ready to begin. Your backup will be saved automatically to the memory card after the process.

 

6. The backup process may take a while depending on the amount of data on your device.

7. When you see the smiling face on your screen, that means the backup process is complete and your backup has been successfully copied to the memory card.

  



2.2. Restoring from memory card

1. Open Settings and select Backup.

2. On the “Restore device” section you can choose the location from which your backed up data will be restored. Tap on “Restore data from” and select “Memory card”, if not already selected.

 

3. Now you can see the most recent backup listed, which is also the one to be restored. Tap on “Restore” and proceed to the next screen. The progress may take a while depending on the amount of data to be restored.

 

4. Once you see the smiling face on your screen, that means the restore process has been completed successfully.

  

 

5. Restart your device.

NOTE: If you restore a backup, but suspect that not everything was restored, please restore the backup again. To restore a backup manually, please see the instructions below.


Sometimes restoring a backup may fail, and it is likely due to corruption of the backup file or there not being enough space on your device memory:

Please try to ensure, that you have a lot of space in your device memory before restoring the backup.



3. Using cloud service as storage

Besides keeping your backup data on a memory card, you may also save your backup to a cloud service, such as Dropbox or OneDrive. In order to use this option, first you need to add your Dropbox and/or OneDrive account from Settings > Accounts. This will ensure that the cloud service you signed up for is available as a backup location under Settings > Backup.

Backup and restore process is similar for both of these cloud services. Below you will see the instructions for Dropbox as an example.

NOTE: Gallery photos and videos are not saved to cloud backups.



3.1. Backing up to cloud

1. Go to Settings and select Backup.

2. Tap on “Backup data to” and select “Dropbox”.

3. Tap “Backup” and proceed when you are ready to begin.

  

 

4. At the end of the process your backup should be successfully uploaded to Dropbox.

  



3.2. Restoring from cloud

1. Go to Settings and select Backup.

2. Tap on “Restore data from” and select Dropbox from the list.

 

3. Now you can see the most recent backup listed, which is also the one to be restored. Tap on “Restore” and proceed to the next screen. The progress may take a while depending on the amount of data to be restored.

 

4. Just like after the backup process, the smiling face on your screen means the restore process has been completed successfully.



4. Known issues

The accounts are typically not restored correctly. Some accounts (but not all) get a red text warning about this and asking to sign in again. This can be seen in Settings > Accounts.

It is a known problem that some accounts, e.g. Exchange, also require a new sign-in although they do not get the red warning texts. Since the menu of the Exchange account does not have any dedicated command for signing in, we recommend deleting the account first, followed by a sign-in.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk