How do I make a backup and restore it?

Jolla Testing -

 

CONTENTS

1. Preword

1.1.  What is NOT included in backups

1.2.  What is included in backups

1.3.  Backup prior to factory reset

1.4.  Backup prior to encrypting home partition

2. Using memory card as storage

2.1.  Backing up to memory card

2.2.  Restoring from memory card

3. Using cloud service as storage

3.1. Backing up to cloud

3.2. Restoring from cloud

 


1. Preword

Before you use backup/restore, please bear in mind that the backup utility cannot save all data on your device:


1.1.  What is NOT included in backups

The backup utility of Sailfish OS does not save the OS updates, installed applications (neither Sailfish nor Android), application data of Android apps, music files, email messages nor the settings in Settings menu to the backup.


1.2  What is included in backups

The following items are backed up (but with some exceptions):

Accounts: your configured accounts (Settings > Accounts).
Note:
- You will probably have to re-login to them.

Browser: your browser bookmarks & tabs.
Note:
- Your saved passwords are not saved.

Gallery: photos and images appearing in Gallery app (residing in folders Pictures and Videos)
Note:
- I
mages and videos saved by Android applications are not backed up.
- Files in other folders, such as Downloads are not backed up.
- Images and videos are not backed up to cloud service, only to an SD card.

Media: your playlists from the Media application.
Note:
- Actual music files (e.g. .mp3) are not backed up.

Messages: your SMS and IM messages.
Note:
- Attachments of MMS messages (i.e. pictures and other media files) are not backed up.

Calendar: your calendar entries (local, non-synchronized) in Calendar app.
Note:
- Synchronized entries (e.g. those from Google calendar service) are not backed up.

Notes: your notes created in Notes application.
Note:
-
Restoring notes from backup always overwrites pre-existing notes in device (if any)

People: your local (non-synchronized) contacts.
Note:
-
Any data from cloud services (Google, Facebook) are not backed up.

Phone: Call history.

 

Items missing from this list are NOT backed up!


1.3  Backup prior to factory reset

If you are going to make a backup because you intend to do a device reset (reset device to factory settings), please note that ALL DATA in the device will be completely WIPED OUT. Like written in chapters 1.1 and 1.2 above, Sailfish backup does not save everything you have in your device, i.e. some data will be lost.  However, the data on the memory card remains intact.

Proceed in this order to restore your system after the reset:

1. First install all system updates until you are in the latest Sailfish OS version again.
2. Then install all your applications again and add your accounts.

3. Restore the backup only now.


1.4  Backup prior to encrypting home partition

We recommend backing up your data before encrypting the home partition [add link to related article] of your device.

We also recommend encrypting your memory card (SD card) first, before encrypting home, to ensure that your backup data is safely stored to the card. How to encrypt the SD card is explained in this article on SD cards.

[explain better: why is this needed]


2. Using memory card as storage


2.1. Backing up to memory card

1. Turn your device off.

2. Insert a memory card (an SD card) to the device. Check what is said about compatibility in this article on SD cards.

3. Turn device on (it is always good to restart the device before taking a backup).

4. Open Settings and select Backup

5. Tap on “Back up data to” and select “Memory card”. Tap “Back up” and proceed when you are ready to begin. Your backup will be saved automatically to the memory card after the process.

 

6. The backup process may take a while depending on the amount of data on your device.

7. When you see the smiling face on your screen, that means the backup process is complete and your backup has been successfully copied to the memory card.

  



2.2. Restoring from memory card

1. Open Settings and select Backup.

2. On the “Restore device” section you can choose the location from which your backed up data will be restored. Tap on “Restore data from” and select “Memory card”, if not already selected.

 

3. Now you can see the most recent backup listed, which is also the one to be restored. Tap on “Restore” and proceed to the next screen. The progress may take a while depending on the amount of data to be restored.

 

4. Once you see the smiling face on your screen, that means the restore process has been completed successfully.

  

 

5. Restart your device.

NOTE: If you restore a backup, but suspect that not everything was restored, please restore the backup again. To restore a backup manually, please see the instructions below.


Sometimes restoring a backup may fail, and it is likely due to corruption of the backup file or there not being enough space on your device memory:

Please try to ensure, that you have a lot of space in your device memory before restoring the backup.



3. Using cloud service as storage

Besides keeping your backup data on a memory card, you may also save your backup to a cloud service, such as Dropbox or OneDrive. In order to use this option, first you need to add your Dropbox and/or OneDrive account from Settings > Accounts. This will ensure that the cloud service you signed up for is available as a backup location under Settings > Backup.

Backup and restore process is similar for both of these cloud services. Below you will see the instructions for Dropbox as an example.

NOTE: Gallery photos and videos are not saved to cloud backups.



3.1. Backing up to cloud

1. Go to Settings and select Backup.

2. Tap on “Backup data to” and select “Dropbox”.

3. Tap “Backup” and proceed when you are ready to begin.

  

 

4. At the end of the process your backup should be successfully uploaded to Dropbox.

  



3.2. Restoring from cloud

1. Go to Settings and select Backup.

2. Tap on “Restore data from” and select Dropbox from the list.

 

3. Now you can see the most recent backup listed, which is also the one to be restored. Tap on “Restore” and proceed to the next screen. The progress may take a while depending on the amount of data to be restored.

 

4. Just like after the backup process, the smiling face on your screen means the restore process has been completed successfully.

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk